Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 8 Next »

Your first time using draw.io with Dropbox

 

When you select Dropbox as your storage mechanism in draw.io the next splash screen will be
Click the Authorize button to allow draw.io to access a specific folder in your Dropbox, usually Apps/drawio. If you want draw.io to forget your Drobox authorization later on, when logged in your name appears in the top right pull down
 


Selecting "sign out" will de-authorize your current login to Dropbox (it won't disconnect the application from your Dropbox permanently).

Dropbox permissions and privacy

 

The first time you authorize Dropbox you will see a dialog like
When you click allow draw.io will have write and read permissions to only that folder. This means that all your files not related to your diagrams are completely secure from draw.io.
 
Linking draw.io to Dropbox means that draw.io can read basic information about you, including your email. However, none of this information resides anywhere except your browser and Dropbox's server, it is never passed up to draw.io servers.

Changing your storage settings

 



Once you are authorized you'll see the new/open dialog. See the Basic Usage section for a description of how to use this.
 
If you decide to switch default storage mechanism at any later point, navigate to the application web page and you'll see this dialog. Click on "Not using Dropbox" and your storage selection will be forgotten and the initial storage splash displayed. If you want to change Dropbox user logout using the pull down at the top right.

Working with Dropbox files in the draw.io interface

 

 



The orange draw.io logo in the top left will take you to www.dropbox.com. Clicking the title of the diagram allows you to rename the Dropbox file.
 
Dropbox files are autosaved any time a change is made to the diagram (you can switch this off under File -> Document properties).  If you have a native client with notifications of file changes enabled, this can be annoying. In this case switch off the autosave and perform manual saves when required. Dropbox does not, at the time of writing, provide a mechanism to avoid the notification from triggering during autosave.
 
New, Save, and Save are self-explanatory.  Make a copy duplicates the file in a new tab, and allowing you to change both the name and the storage option for that file.  It is therefore functionally very similar to Save as, except that you are left with both the original and copy open in different tabs. Open invokes the Dropbox file picker, which has seperate permissions from the draw.io application. You can load anything into draw.io, from any folder, but be careful doing this since you still can only save to the permitted folder. Thus, if you open a file in another folder and perform File -> Save then the file will be saved in the Apps/drawio folder instead, leaving the original unchanged.

Version control in the draw.io interface

Dropbox allows version control, where multiple copies of the same file can be stored and retrieved.  This functionality is also available in the draw.io interface.

It is not possible to explicitly create a new revision of a diagram when using Dropbox as the storage option.  Instead, a new revision will be automatically created any time the fiel is saved, either manually by the user, or via the autosave function.  As noted above, Dropbox will save the file any time a change is made.  To avoid having a large revision history containing nearly identical diagrams, it is best to turn off autosave.

The number of revisions for any given file is capped at 100.  After that, each new revision causes the oldest revision to be deleted.

It is possible to view the revision history for a file.  Selecting File -> Revision history brings up a new window showing all revisions for the currently open file.

 

When the window first opens, the current revision is highlighted in the list of available revisions, located in the top left hand corner.  By left-clicking on any revision in the list, you cause the diagram associated with that revision to appear in the main view.  This view is read-only, although there are magnification controls located below the bottom left hand corner of the diagram.  In addition, by left or right clicking on the diagram and dragging, it is possible to scroll around the diagram at different magnifications.

Having examined different revisions of the diagram, you have a number of options available to you, located in the bottom right hand corner of the window:

Show will open a new tab containing a larger read-only view of the selected revision.  Magnification controls are once again avaialble in the top-left of the diagram. 

Selecting any revision from the list (apart from the current one) and then Restore will open a prompt window

Choosing OK will close the window and load that revision of the diagram into the editor. This old revision will then become the new current revision.

Close will simply close the window and return you to the editor.

 

 

  • No labels