Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

If you decide to switch default storage mechanism at any later point, navigate to the application web page and you'll see this dialog. Click on "Not using Dropbox" and your storage selection will be forgotten and the initial storage splash displayed. If you want to change Dropbox user logout using the pull down at the top right.

Working with Dropbox files in the draw.io interface

 

 

...

The orange draw.io logo in the top left will take you to www.dropbox.com. Clicking the title of the diagram allows you to rename the Dropbox file.
 
Dropbox files are autosaved any time a change is made to the diagram (you can switch this off under File -> Document properties).  If you have a native client with notifications of file changes enabled, this can be annoying. In this case switch off the autosave and perform manual saves when required. Dropbox does not, at the time of writing, provide a mechanism to avoid the notification from triggering during autosave.
 
New, Save, and Save as are self-explanatory.  Make a copy duplicates the file in a new tab, and allowing you to change both the name and the storage option for that file.  It is therefore functionally very similar to Save as, except that you are left with both the original and copy open in different tabs. Open invokes the Dropbox file picker, which has separate permissions from the draw.io application. You can load anything into draw.io, from any folder, but be careful doing this since you still can only save to the permitted folder. Thus, if you open a file in another folder and perform File -> Save then the file will be saved in the Apps/drawio folder instead, leaving the original unchanged.

Version control in the draw.io interface

Dropbox allows version control, where multiple copies of the same file can be stored and retrieved.  This functionality is also available in the draw.io interface.

It is not possible to explicitly create a new revision of a diagram when using Dropbox as the storage option.  Instead, a new revision will be automatically created any time the fiel is saved, either manually by the user, or via the autosave function.  As noted above, Dropbox will save the file any time a change is made.  To avoid having a large revision history containing nearly identical diagrams, it is best to turn off autosave.

The number of revisions for any given file is capped at 100.  After that, each new revision causes the oldest revision to be deleted.

It is possible to view the revision history for a file.  Selecting File -> Revision history brings up a new window showing all revisions for the currently open file.

 

Image Removed

When the window first opens, the current revision is highlighted in the list of available revisions, located in the top left hand corner.  By left-clicking on any revision in the list, you cause the diagram associated with that revision to appear in the main view.  This view is read-only, although there are magnification controls located below the bottom left hand corner of the diagram.  In addition, by left or right clicking on the diagram and dragging, it is possible to scroll around the diagram at different magnifications.

Having examined different revisions of the diagram, you have a number of options available to you, located in the bottom right hand corner of the window:

Show will open a new tab containing a larger read-only view of the selected revision.  Magnification controls are once again avaialble in the top-left of the diagram. 

Selecting any revision from the list (apart from the current one) and then Restore will open a prompt window

Image Removed

Choosing OK will close the window and load that revision of the diagram into the editor. This old revision will then become the new current revision.

Close will simply close the window and return you to the editor.